There's a lot of open issues
A read/write client for Netbox v2.
2005
2006
2007
2008
2009
2010
2011
2012
2013
2014
2015
2016
2017
2018
2019
2020
2021
 Project Readme

NetboxClientRuby

Build Status Gem Version Code Climate

This is a gem to pragmatically access your Netbox instance via it's API from Ruby. This gem is currently only compatible with Netbox v2.4 or newer.

Installation

Add this line to your application's Gemfile:

gem 'netbox-client-ruby'

And then execute:

$ bundle

Or install it manually:

$ gem install netbox-client-ruby

Usage

Configuration

Put this somewhere, where it runs, before any call to anything else of Netbox. If you are using Rails, then this would probably be somewhere underneath /config.

require 'netbox-client-ruby'
NetboxClientRuby.configure do |config|
  config.netbox.auth.token = 'YOUR_API_TOKEN'
  config.netbox.api_base_url = 'http://netbox.local/api/'

  # these are optional:
  config.netbox.auth.rsa_private_key.path = '~/.ssh/netbox_rsa'
  config.netbox.auth.rsa_private_key.password = ''
  config.netbox.pagination.default_limit = 50
  config.faraday.adapter = Faraday.default_adapter
  config.faraday.request_options = { open_timeout: 1, timeout: 5 }
  config.faraday.logger = :logger # built-in options: :logger, :detailed_logger; default: nil
end

Structure

The methods are aligned with the API as it is defined in Netbox. You can explore the API endpoints in your browser by opening the API endpoint. Usually that's http://YOUR_NETBOX/api/.

So if the URL is /api/dcim/sites.json, then the corresponding Ruby code would be NetboxClientRuby.dcim.sites.

Examples

# configuration
NetboxClientRuby.configure do |c|
  c.netbox.auth.token = '2e35594ec8710e9922d14365a1ea66f27ea69450'
  c.netbox.api_base_url = 'http://netbox.local/api/'
  c.netbox.auth.rsa_private_key.path = '~/.ssh/netbox_rsa'
end

# get all sites
sites = NetboxClientRuby.dcim.sites
puts "There are #{sites.total} sites in your Netbox instance."

# get the first site of the result set
first_site = sites.first
puts "The first site is called #{first_site.name}."

# filter devices by site
# Note that Netbox filters by *slug*
devices_of_site = NetboxClientRuby.dcim.devices.filter(site: first_site.slug)
puts "#{devices_of_site.total} devices belong to the site. #{devices_of_site}.length devices have been fetched."

# Finds a specific device
NetboxClientRuby.dcim.devices.find_by(name: 'my-device', other_field: 'other-value')

# Finds a specific device with a certain custom field
NetboxClientRuby.dcim.devices.find_by(cf_custom_url: 'https://google.com')

# Or a mix of regular and custom fields
NetboxClientRuby.dcim.devices.find_by(name: 'my-device', cf_custom_field: 'custom-value')

# get a site by id
s = NetboxClientRuby.dcim.site(1)

# update a site
s.update(name: 'Zurich', slug: 'zrh')

# update a site (alternative)
s.name = 'Amsterdam'
s.slug = 'ams'
s.save

# create a site
new_s = NetboxClientRuby::DCIM::Site.new
new_s.name = 'Berlin'
new_s.slug = 'ber'
new_s.save

# create a site (alternative)
new_s = NetboxClientRuby::DCIM::Site
          .new(name: 'Berlin', slug: 'ber')
          .save

# delete a site
s = NetboxClientRuby.dcim.site(1)
s.delete

# working with secrets
secrets = NetboxClientRuby.secrets.secrets
puts "#{secrets.total} secrets are in your Netbox."
secrets[0].plaintext # => nil, because you have not yet defined a session_key
NetboxClientRuby.secrets.get_session_key # now get a session_key
secrets = NetboxClientRuby.secrets.secrets # you must reload the data from the server
secrets[0].plaintext # => 'super secret password'

# optionally, you can persist the session_key:
session_key = NetboxClientRuby.secrets.get_session_key.session_key
FILE_NAME = File.expand_path('~/.netbox_session_key').freeze
File.write(FILE_NAME, session_key)

# later on, you can restore the persisted session_key:
persisted_session_key = File.read(FILE_NAME)
NetboxClientRuby.secrets.session_key = persisted_session_key

Available Objects

Not all objects which the Netbox API exposes are currently implemented. Implementing new objects is trivial, though.

  • Circuits:
    • Circuits: NetboxClientRuby.circuits.circuits
    • Circuit Types: NetboxClientRuby.circuits.circuit_types
    • Circuit Terminations: NetboxClientRuby.circuits.circuit_terminations
    • Providers: NetboxClientRuby.circuits.providers
  • DCIM:
    • Console Connections: NetboxClientRuby.dcim.console_connections
    • Console Ports: NetboxClientRuby.dcim.console_ports
    • Console Server Ports: NetboxClientRuby.dcim.console_server_ports
    • Devices: NetboxClientRuby.dcim.devices
    • Device Roles: NetboxClientRuby.dcim.device_roles
    • Device Types: NetboxClientRuby.dcim.device_types
    • Interfaces: NetboxClientRuby.dcim.interfaces
    • Interface Connections: NetboxClientRuby.dcim.interface_connections
    • Manufacturers: NetboxClientRuby.dcim.manufacturers
    • Platforms: NetboxClientRuby.dcim.platforms
    • Power Connections: NetboxClientRuby.dcim.power_connections
    • Power Outlets: NetboxClientRuby.dcim.power_outlets
    • Power Ports: NetboxClientRuby.dcim.power_ports
    • Racks: NetboxClientRuby.dcim.racks
    • Rack Groups: NetboxClientRuby.dcim.rack_groups
    • Rack Roles: NetboxClientRuby.dcim.rack_roles
    • Rack Reservations: NetboxClientRuby.dcim.rack_reservations
    • Regions: NetboxClientRuby.dcim.regions
    • Sites: NetboxClientRuby.dcim.sites
    • Virtual Chassis: NetboxClientRuby.dcim.virtual_chassis_list (⚠️ Exception: The access is different and the class is called VirtualChassisList because the plural and singular names are the same and this poses a conflict.)
  • IPAM:
    • Aggregates: NetboxClientRuby.ipam.aggregates
    • IP Addresses: NetboxClientRuby.ipam.ip_addresses
    • Prefixes: NetboxClientRuby.ipam.prefixes
    • RIRs: NetboxClientRuby.ipam.rirs
    • Roles: NetboxClientRuby.ipam.roles
    • VLANs: NetboxClientRuby.ipam.vlans
    • VLAN Groups: NetboxClientRuby.ipam.vlan_groups
    • VRFs: NetboxClientRuby.ipam.vrfs
  • Secrets:
    • Secrets: NetboxClientRuby.secrets.secrets
    • Secret Roles: NetboxClientRuby.secrets.secret_roles
    • generate-rsa-key-pair: NetboxClientRuby.secrets.generate_rsa_key_pair
    • get-session-key: NetboxClientRuby.secrets.get_session_key
  • Tenancy:
    • Tenant: NetboxClientRuby.tenancy.tenants
    • Tenant Groups: NetboxClientRuby.tenancy.tenant_groups
  • Virtualization:
    • Cluster Types: NetboxClientRuby.virtualization.cluster_types
    • Cluster Groups: NetboxClientRuby.virtualization.cluster_groups
    • Clusters: NetboxClientRuby.virtualization.clusters
    • Virtual Machines: NetboxClientRuby.virtualization.virtual_machines
    • Interfaces: NetboxClientRuby.virtualization.interfaces

If you can't find the object you need, also check the source code if it was added in the meantime without the list above having been updated.

Development

After checking out the repo, run bin/setup to install dependencies. Then, run rake spec to run the tests.

To install this gem onto your local machine, run bundle exec rake install.

To experiment interactively, fire up the Netbox Docker container by running docker-compose up -d. Then, run bin/console for an interactive prompt that will allow you to experiment against your local Netbox.

Load Development Data

To simplify development, e.g. via the bin/console described above, there is a very complete sample set of Netbox data readily available. You can use it to query almost every object and relation in Netbox.

docker exec -i netbox-client-ruby_postgres_1 psql -U postgres < dump.sql

Dump Development from Database

Should you want to export the current set of data, use the command below.

docker-compose exec postgres pg_dump -U netbox --exclude-table-data=extras_objectchange -Cc netbox > dump.sql

(Remove --exclude-table-data=extras_objectchange from the command if you want to retain the history!)

Contributing

Bug reports and pull requests are very welcome on GitHub.

Before opening a PR, please

  • extend the existing specs
  • run rspec
  • run rubocop and fix your warnings
  • check if this README.md file needs adjustments

License

The gem is available as open source under the terms of the MIT License.

About

This gem is currently maintained and funded by nine.

logo of the company 'nine'